SAARC can only be fully effective in the absence of “terror and violence”

This statement was given by PM Modi at South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation on its 36th Charter Day anniversary.

India’s concerns over crossborder terrorism from Pakistan remain a primary obstacle in India’s participation in the summit.

Nepal is the current chairman of SAARC, a position which moves by rotation through the eight countries of South Asia — Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

It held the last SAARC summit in 2014.

In 2016, Pakistan was due to hold the next summit, but it had to be put off after India refused to attend the event in Islamabad, and Nepal continues to hold the chair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *